Trigger

Discuss anything related to using the program (eg. triggered betting tactics)

Moderator: 2020vision

Trigger

Postby Bezza » Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:20 pm

Can anyone please help.I want to use a certain function in excel to trigger a bet once certain conditions are matched.

e.g.If the value in cell A1 is 30 then the formula =And(A1>10,A1<40) would return TRUE.In this case I would like the "true"outcome to trigger a back bet.As you can probably tell I an a complete novice and would be grateful for any advice.
Bezza

Postby PeteB » Tue Jun 05, 2007 2:04 pm

In the Trigger cell for the runner, put =if(and(A1>10,A1<40),"BACK","WAIT")

The cell should display "WAIT" until your both tests in the And are true, when it will change to "BACK". This will fire a bet if the Odds and Stake cells are populated.
(you can use the same approach to populate the Odds and Stake cells too)
PeteB

Postby Bezza » Tue Jun 05, 2007 6:20 pm

Thank you very much Pete
Bezza

Postby Bezza » Tue Jun 05, 2007 7:09 pm

Pete,I tried that and it works a treat,however,it highlighted my next problem.In the same trigger cell I would also like the following =if(and(A1<10,A1>40),"LAY","WAIT").So under the given conditions the trigger would either back or lay.Is this possible.
Bezza

Postby PeteB » Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:27 pm

The syntax is
=if(<test condition>, <result if true>, <result if false>) and you can nest them

So to do:

if and(A1<10,A1>40)
BACK
else
if and(A1>10,A1<40)
LAY
else
WAIT
endif
endif

You would do =if(and(A1<10,A1>40),"LAY",if(and(A1>10,A1<40),"BACK","WAIT"))
PeteB

Postby PeteB » Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:27 pm

Rats - my indenting in my pseudo-code didn't work, and there's no edit!!! anyway I hope this makes sense...
PeteB

Postby PeteB » Tue Jun 05, 2007 8:31 pm

Doh - and I put the conditions the wrong way round grrrr.....

This time with consistent pseudo-code and Excel formula:

if and(A1>10,A1<40)
...BACK
else
...if and(A1<10,A1>40)
......LAY
...else
......WAIT
...endif
endif