Browsing Markets

Find a developer for your Excel triggered betting needs and advertise your development service here.

Moderator: 2020vision

Browsing Markets

Postby negapo » Thu Apr 09, 2009 6:16 pm

Hi,
Can anyone give me a little help. I don't understand anything about VBA and i was trying to browse my quick pick list trying to find certain conditions. (i have to do this in VBA because after a "-1" in cell Q2 B.A. clean all values in that cell).

I have ten worksheets with this code in each one

Private Sub Worksheet_Calculate()
If Range("B16").Value <> "0" Then
Range("Q2").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "-1"
Else
Range("Q2").FormulaR1C1 = "0.1"
End If
End Sub

If the market conditions are met cell B16 as the value 0.
If only one sheet is logging everything is OK but if i run more than one worksheet i get an error:
"Select Method of Range class failed"

Much appreciate for any help.
negapo

Postby dgs2001 » Thu Apr 09, 2009 6:46 pm

negapo

I'm no expert but the following may help.

Firstly we don't need to select a cell (range) to work on it so E.G.

Code: Select all
Range("Q2").Select
ActiveCell.FormulaR1C1 = "-1"

Becomes
Range("Q2")="-1"

Secondly we need to stop anything else being done to your sheets while this code is running so in each sheet just after

we put in
Application.EnableEvents = false

and just before
End Sub
we put
Application.EnableEvents = True

So the complete code becomes

Application.EnableEvents = False

If Range("B16").Value <> "0" Then
Range("Q2")= "-1"
Else
Range("Q2") = "0.1"
End If

Application.EnableEvents = True
End Sub

Try this it might work it might not!!

Duncan
dgs2001

Postby negapo » Thu Apr 09, 2009 7:02 pm

Duncan
Thank you very much for the code and the explanation.
It works fine, now i just have a problem with the synchronization because B.A. jumps two markets without checking the validation of my market conditions, he is two fast :D