formula for adding runninf numbers

Discuss anything related to using the program (eg. triggered betting tactics)

Moderator: 2020vision

formula for adding runninf numbers

Postby punterspride » Wed Jul 05, 2006 8:18 pm

i wonder if someone can please help me.

i am new to excel and am playing around with it. i would like to know if there is a formula that i can use to add all the numbers up in a seperate box.

for example if i want to calculate the money that goes for the top horse in block g5 in excel sheet what is the formula.

i have tried sum , count etc..

i think it buggers it up because it changes so frequently.

shortly said i would like to add up numbers in the same block. as it changes the amount in the other block where i put in my formula must go bigger ( sum )

hope anyone can help me

please thanx
ppunterspride
punterspride

Postby Mitch » Wed Jul 05, 2006 8:30 pm

I'm not really sure what you're asking, but to add numbers together you use sum. So if you're using A1 as the top left cell, and want to add up the BACK money available for the top horse, the formula would be
Code: Select all
=SUM(C5,E5,G5)

or you could do this
Code: Select all
=C5+E5+G5

The one thing you can't do is to put the formula in a cell that BA pastes info in to, because it will get overwritten straight away.

If that helps, good. If not, please try to be a little more specific about what you'd like to get it to do.
Mitch

Postby punterspride » Wed Jul 05, 2006 8:42 pm

i think i explained it a little bit difficult.

if you go onto excel it shows you how the money changes for every horse.

what i would like to do is add up the money for each horse. ( In block i5 of the excel sheet)

what i did is i copied the horses names below the ba excell and next to it i would like to see how much money trades hands for each horse.

like for instance block i5 is not a fixed number , it changes on every interval as money changes hands.