Line Charts in Excel

Please post any questions regarding the program here.

Moderator: 2020vision

Line Charts in Excel

Postby bmann13 » Sat Feb 04, 2006 6:20 pm

Hi,

I am a newbie here and at the risk of sounding dumb, can anybody please tell me how I can plot the prices of say the favorite as a line chart in excel, similar to line charts in the stock market.

I basically want these charts to update in realtime so I can use it for trading. Any help will be most appreciated.

BTW, thanks for building this neat piece of software Gary.

Thanks in advance.
bmann13

Postby Mitch » Sat Feb 04, 2006 7:09 pm

Do you just want the same as the little chart in BA against each runner, but on a larger scale?
Mitch

Postby bmann13 » Sun Feb 05, 2006 3:29 pm

Mitch wrote:Do you just want the same as the little chart in BA against each runner, but on a larger scale?

Hi Mitch,

Yes that is what I am looking for, the exact same as in Betfair but on a larger scale in realtime without the need of hitting the refresh button all the time.

Thanks in advance.
bmann13

Postby Mitch » Sun Feb 05, 2006 11:08 pm

I'm not sure if this will work how you want it to, but a simple way would be to import data for just one runner into a seperate worksheet, then base a line graph on the column where the data will be imported to. You can have the graph on the page with all runners if you want to.

If that sounds ok but you're not sure how to make the chart post back, it's easier than it sounds.
Mitch

Postby bmann13 » Mon Feb 06, 2006 1:00 pm

Hi Mitch,

I would like to try that out on one runner...the question begs...how do I do that please?

Thanks in advance
bmann13

Postby thunderfoot » Mon Feb 06, 2006 2:41 pm

bmann13 wrote:Hi Mitch,
I would like to try that out on one runner...the question begs...how do I do that please?
Thanks in advance

I'm assuming you're not familiar with EXCEL, but here's a basic outline of graphing.

1. In Cells A1:A20 enter the number 1 to 20.